PREVIOUS MEETINGS

PDIF #6: Pediatric Device Trial Infrastructure: Clinical investigation of an implantable pediatric ventricular assist device - NHLBI PumpKIN (Pumps for Kids Infants and Neonates) Trial

Hosted by the Pennsylvania Pediatric Medical Device Consortium

In conjunction with the McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine Scientific Retreat 2022

Tuesday, March 8th, 2022 | 3:00pm - 4:30pm ET (12:00pm - 1:30pm PT)

Speakers & Panelists:

  • Harvey Borovetz, PhD (chair) – PumpKIN Site Principal Investigator

Distinguished Professor, Department of Bioengineering, University of Pittsburgh

  • Ashley Magnavita, MPH, PMP – PumpKIN contact of record, Clinical Trial Monitoring & Protocol Design

Director, Clinical Research Project Management, HealthCore

  • Kurt Dasse, PhD – Member, NIH Executive Committee for the PumpKIN Program

President, VADovations, Inc.

  • Tim Baldwin, PhD – Former Deputy Chief of Advanced Technologies & Surgery Branch, NHLBI Division of Cardiovascular Sciences, Program Officer for PumpKIN

Senior Staff Fellow/Reviewer, Circulatory Support Devices Team, FDA

  • Richard Schaub, PhD – PumpKIN Site Support Center Preparedness & Bioengineering Pump Management

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Bioengineering, University of Pittsburgh

Sr. Director of Artificial Heart Program, UPMC

Sr. Director of Mechanical Circulatory Support, Procirca

PDIF #5: Pediatric Surgical Device Development: Challenges and Future Directions

Hosted by The Southwest National Pediatric Device Innovation Consortium

Thursday, December 2nd, 2021 | 1:00pm - 2:30pm CT (2:00pm - 3:30pm ET)

View and download a detailed version of the agenda here.

Learn more about the event and watch a brief recording here.

PDIF #4: Using Real-World Evidence to Accelerate Pediatric Device Development: Challenges and Future Directions

Hosted by The UCSF-Stanford Pediatric Device Consortium

Thursday, September 23rd, 2021 | 11:00am - 12:30pm PT (2:00pm - 3:30pm ET)

Speakers & Panelists:

  • Felipe Aguel, PhD -- Deputy Director, Office of Clinical Evidence & Analysis, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

  • Sanket Dhruva, MD -- Assistant Professor of Medicine, UC San Francisco and San Francisco Veterans Affairs Medical Center

  • Brandon Dottin-Haley -- Chief Business Development Officer, Sonavi Labs

  • Christian Howell -- Vice President and General Manager, Medical Devices & Diagnostics Group, Aetion

  • Anitha John, MD -- Medical Director of the Washington Adult Congenital Heart Program, Children’s National Hospital

  • Jonathan McElwee -- Senior Manager of Regulatory Affairs, AtriCure

  • Vasum Peiris, MD -- Chief Medical Officer and Director for Pediatrics and Special Populations, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

  • Erika Torjusen, MD -- Director of the Rare Pediatric Disease, Humanitarian Use Device, and Pediatric Device Consortia Grant programs, Office of Orphan Products Development, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

  • Nancy Yu -- CEO, AllStripes

Agenda:

  • Welcome and Introductory Remarks - Hanmin Lee, MD, Stefano Rensi, PhD & Elizabeth Gress, MPA (11:00am PT / 2pm ET)

  • FDA Perspective: Overview of RWE @ FDA - Felipe Aguel, PhD (11:08am PT / 2:08pm ET)

  • RWE in the Startup World: 3 Snapshots - Moderator: James Wall, MD (11:17am PT / 2:17pm ET)

  • Panel Discussion - Moderator: Stefano Rensi, PhD (11:48am PT / 2:48pm ET)

  • Audience Q&A - Moderator: Janene Fuerch, MD (12:13pm PT / 3:13pm ET)

  • Closing Remarks and PDIF #5 Announcement - Chester Koh, MD (12:28pm PT / 3:28pm ET)


View and download a detailed version of the agenda here.

Learn more about the event and speakers by viewing the event brochure.

PDIF #3: Focused Ultrasound for Pediatric Indications

Hosted by The National Capital Consortium for Pediatric Device Innovation

Thursday, July 22nd, 2021 | 2:00pm - 3:30pm ET

Hosted by The National Capital Consortium for Pediatric Device Innovation

Thursday, July 22nd, 2021 | 2:00pm - 3:30pm ET


Speakers:

  • Jessica Foley, PhD — Chief Scientific Officer, FUS Foundation

  • Michael Anderson, MBA, FAAP, FCCM, FAARC — Senior Advisor, Children's National Hospital and US Department of Health and Human Services

  • Roger Packer, MD — Senior Vice President of the Center for Neuroscience and Behavioral Medicine, Children’s National Hospital

  • Arjun Desai, MD — Chief Strategic Officer, Insighttec

  • Karun Sharma, MD — Director, Interventional Radiology, Children's National Hospital

  • Arun Menewat, MD — Chairman and CEO, Profound Medical

  • Francesca Joseph, MD — Co-investigator, National Capital Consortium for Pediatric Device Innovation, Children’s National Hospital

  • Gordon Schatz, JD — President, Schatz Reimbursement Strategies, LLC

  • Mary Daymont, MSN — Vice President of Revenue Cycle and Care Management, Children’s National Hospital

Agenda:

  • Welcome and Introductory Remarks (2:00pm - 2:05pm)

  • Keynote Fireside Chat - Jessica Foley and Michael Anderson (2:05pm - 2:15pm)

  • Case study #1: Osteoid Osteoma (panel discussion and Q&A) (2:15pm - 2:50pm)

  • Case Study #2: DIPG (panel discussion and Q&A) (2:50pm - 3:25pm)

  • Closing Remarks and date of the next Forum (3:25pm-3:30pm)

Learn more about the topic and speakers here.

PDIF #2: Health Equity Challenges in Pediatric Medical Device Development

Hosted by The West Coast Consortium for Technology & Innovation in Pediatrics

Thursday, May 20th, 2021 | 3:00pm - 4:30pm ET

Speakers:

  • Maurice Jones, JD, MA CEO, OneTen

  • Patti White, MBACEO, Hemex Health

  • Vasum Peiris, MD, MPH, FAAP, FACC, FASEChief Medical Officer and Director – Pediatrics and Special Populations, CDRH, FDA

  • Kate Garrett, BSManaging Partner, Sonder Capital

  • Hanna Song, PhDChief Diversity Officer, Children's Hospital Los Angeles

  • Gordon Schatz, JD — President, Schatz Reimbursement Strategies, LLC

  • Charisee Lamar, PhD, MPH - Director, Office of Health Equity, NICHD

Agenda:

  • Introductory Remarks — Juan Espinoza, MD (3:00pm-3:05pm)

  • Framing Health Equity - Maurice Jones, JD, MA (3:05pm-3:15pm)

  • Case Study: The Gazelle Sickle Cell Disease Diagnostic Device Patti White, MBA (3:15pm-3:25pm)

  • Moderated Panel Discussion (3:25pm-4:00pm)

  • Audience questions addressed to the panelists (4:00pm—4:25pm)

  • Closing Remarks and date of the next Forum (4:25pm-4:30pm)

PDIF #1: Biomaterial Challenges in Pediatric Prosthetic Heart Valves Development

Hosted by the Pennsylvania Pediatric Medical Device Consortium

Thursday, March 11th, 2021 | 3:00pm - 4:30pm EST

Speakers:

  • Pediatric heart valve prostheses: Addressing unmet needs — Jonathan Chen, MD (Chief, Cardiothoracic Surgery, CHOP)

  • New synthetic biomaterials for pediatric heart valves — William Wagner, PhD (Director, McGowan Institute, Univ. of Pittsburgh)

  • Preclinical development of a novel heart valve prosthesis for pediatrics — Narendra Vyavahare, PhD (Professor, Dept. of Bioengineering, Clemson University)

  • Pediatric prosthetic heart valve trials in the USMartijn Cox, PhD (Chief Technology Officer, Xeltis)

  • Materials regulation for pediatric heart valvesScott McNamee, PhD (Materials Engineer, Office of Product Evaluation and Quality, CDRH, FDA)

Agenda:

  • Introductory Remarks—Vasum Peiris, MD, CDRH, FDA (3pm-3:05pm)

  • Panelists Introductory Remarks (3:05pm-3:20pm)

  • Questions (pre-submitted) addressed to the panelists (3:20pm-4:00pm)

  • Audience questions addressed to the panelists (4:00pm—4:25pm)

  • Final remarks, Post Forum activities, and topic and date of the next Forum (4:25-4:30pm)